GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE: Commodity Commission Appointments Announced

Georgia Department of Agriculture issued the following announcement on Aug. 9.

Recently, the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions ex officio committee confirmed appointments to several commodity commissions. The following appointments were made to serve three-year terms:

Beef Commission

John Callaway, Coweta County

Ernie Ford, Calhoun County

Allen Wiggins, Turner County

Cotton Commission

Steven Meeks, Wayne County

Matt Coley, Dooly County

Equine Commission

Beth Williams, Oconee County

Dr. Barbara Kelly, Peach County

Soybean Commission

Brian Ogletree, Lamar County

Jesse Patrick, Putnam County

Tobacco Commission

Jerry Wooten, Jeff Davis County

Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions were created by the Georgia state legislature and receive funds from farmer-approved market orders, which allow for the collection of assessments on sale of the commodity. Funds received by the commodity commission can be used to fund research, education, and promotion of the commodity. The Equine Commission receives its funds from the sale of the Equine Specialty License plate for motor vehicles. Commission member terms are three years.

Original source can be found here.

Organizations in this Story

Georgia Department of Agriculture

Want to get notified whenever we write about Georgia Department of Agriculture ?
Next time we write about Georgia Department of Agriculture, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.