NCFC names Hal Clemensen Director of the Year

The National Council of Farmer Cooperatives (NCFC) named Hal Clemensen as Director of the Year during their annual meeting last month.

For 12 years, Clemensen has served as the president of the Wheat Growers Board of Directors. He has been on the board for two decades.

“I’m very honored and humbled by this national honor,” Clemensen said. “I appreciate the fact that I have a great board and management team to work with. I consider this award to be as much for them as it is for me. It’s great for Wheat Growers on a national level, good for our board to show that our directors are on par with any national co-op director in the country.”

The award recognizes a farmer cooperative director who has an outstanding record of helping the board make important decisions. The judges look at how well the nominee understands his cooperative, leadership and team player abilities, good business judgment, and effective communication skills.

“The entire Wheat Growers team is very proud that Hal was honored as NCFC’s Director of the Year,” Dale Locken, Wheat Growers CEO, said. “This award is recognition of the vital leadership role he has played, and continues to play, in the development and ongoing growth of our cooperative.”

Each year, NCFC donates $5,000 to the scholarship fund of a land grant university on behalf of the winner; this year, Clemensen chose South Dakota State University to honor his home state.