Conaway receives Farm Bureau's Golden Plow Award

Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX) received the AFBF’s highest honor for lawmakers.
Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX) received the AFBF’s highest honor for lawmakers. | Contributed photo

Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX), chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, was awarded the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) Golden Plow, the AFBF’s highest honor for lawmakers, during the Farm Bureau Advocacy Conference in February. 

The award recognizes members of Congress who have a distinguished record of support for AFBF policies in legislation, including the private enterprise system, sound agricultural policies, fiscal conservatism, and reduced federal regulation of businesses and individuals.

Conaway supported the 2014 Farm Bill and continues to work with the Agriculture Department to make sure programs are implemented properly. In the past, he made sure crop insurance funding was not cut during a bipartisan budget agreement, and he was involved with redrafting federal dietary guidelines.

“We are tremendously pleased to be able to recognize Chairman Conaway for all the great things he has done for America’s farmers and ranchers,” AFBF President Zippy Duvall said. “Thank you for your dedicated service to agriculture and rural America.”

Organizations in this Story

American Farm Bureau Federation

Get notified the next time we write about American Farm Bureau Federation!