NCGA calls for national WOTUS repeal

President of the National Corn Grower Association (NCGA) Chip Bowling issued a statement Sept. 8 following a decision that limited the postponing of the implementation of the Waters of the U.S. rule (WOTUS).

The U.S. District Court for the District of North Dakota ruled that only specific states associated with the court case against the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) would have the WOTUS rule postponed as the case moves forward.

“Regardless of whether the injunction applies to 13 states or 50, the rule affects every farmer and rancher in America," Bowling said. "It may take months or even years for the courts to sort out the legality of WOTUS. With the Army Corps of Engineers stating that this rule is not based on law or science, and is not likely to withstand a legal challenge, we are confident that WOTUS will eventually be overturned in court. In the meantime, farmers are on the hook. We urge all farmers – and especially those who do not reside in the 13 states for which this injunction applies – to proceed with caution."

States that will have the WOTUS rule postponed are Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Missouri, Idaho, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, New Mexico and Wyoming.

Organizations in this story

National Corn Growers Association 632 Cepi Drive Chesterfield, MO - 63005

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 1200 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, DC - 20460

Get notified the next time we write about any of these organizations